• Events
  • Business Retention & Expansion Awards

Business Retention & Expansion Awards

The PDI Business Retention and Expansion (BRE) Awards Program recognizes the contribution of BRE to the success of local and regional economic development initiatives.

Awards Presentation: The PDI BRE Awards will be presented on May 2, 2018 during the luncheon of the Iowa SMART Economic Development Conference, at the location is the Embassy Suites on the River, Des Moines, IA

Purpose of Award: To increase the focus on BRE in economic development organizations by identifying programs and projects that have significant impact on Iowa communities.

Eligibility: All PDI members are eligible to receive the award. Eligible programs/projects are those in which the nominated entity plays a coordinating role or in which BRE activities play an integral role in the success of an economic development strategy. The programs/projects nominated may include those serving local or regional areas. Ongoing BRE programs or projects within the last 24 months are eligible.


Sponsored by: Smart Solutions Group Inc. & Blane/Canada Synchronist Suite


2017 Overall Program Awards:

Lee County Econmic Development Group


Joe Steil, CEO (Director Debi Durham, IEDA & Mark Reinig, PDI President) and Dana Millard, Marketing & Communications (Bob Henningsen, Smart Solutions Group & Sponsor)

Northwest Iowa Development


Curt Strouth, Sheldon Chamber & Development Corp.; Micah Freese, Rock Rapids Economic Development Corp. (Mark Reinig, PDI President); Dennis Dokter, City of Sioux Center; David Miller, Chairman NWID & Development Director, Rock Valley Economic Development Corp.; Steve Simons, NWID Board Member, Lyon County Economic Development; Mark Buschkamp, NWID Board Member, Cherokee County Economic Development (Bob Henningsen, Smart Solutions Group & Sponsor)


2017 Single Project awards:

Sheldon Chamber and Development Corporation - Rosenboom Machine & Tool Expansion Project


Tom Eggers, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, Justin Rosenboom, Pete Hamill, Curt Strouth, Governor Terry Branstad and award sponsor Bob Henningsen, Smart Solutions Group

Ida County Economic Development - VT Industries


Ida County Economic Development President, Rita Frahm; IEDA Director Debi Durham; from VT Industries are Jason Farver, Executive Vice President; Frank Forneris, Facilities Manager; Cordell Burton, Director of Corporate Engineering;
Mark Reinig, PDI President and Bob Henningsen, Smart Solutions Group, Sponsor

           Proudly sponsored by Smart Solutions Group and Synchronist Business Information Systems.

2016 BRE Award Recipients

Overall BRE Program Award:

  • BEST of the Cedar Valley
  • Lee County Economic Development Group

Single BRE Project/Success:

  • Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance - Riverside Facility
  • Quad Cities Chamber/Quad Cities First - Kraft Heinz Foods Company

2015 BRE Award Recipients

Overall BRE Program Award:

  • Iowa City Area Development Group
  • Marion County Economic Development 

Single BRE Project/Success:

  • City of Sioux City - Bomgaars Supply Inc. Expansion
  • Marion Economic Development Group - Legacy Manufacturing Expansion

2014 BRE Award Recipients

Overall BRE Program Award:

  • Ames Economic Development Commission
  • Greater Dubuque Development Corporation
  • Quad Cities Chamber of Commerce

Single BRE Project/Success:

  • Iowa Lakes Corridor Development Corporation
  • Midwest Partnership Economic Development Corporation

2013 BRE Award Recipients

Overall BRE Program Award:

  • Warren County Economic Development Corporation

Single BRE Project/Success:

  • City of Sioux City Economic Development - Sabre Industries Inc. Expansion
  • Mount Pleasant Area Development Commission - Nypro Kánaak Iowa Expansion
  • Mitchell County Economic Development - Grain Millers, Inc. Expansion

2012 BRE Award Recipients:

Overall BRE Program Award

  • Greater Dubuque Development Corporation, InfoAction
    Greater Dubuque Development Corporation’s VP for Existing Business, Dan McDonald
  • Iowa City Area Development Group, “Minding our Own Business”
    Mark Nolte, Business Development Director, ICAD

Single BRE Project/ Success

  • City of West Des Moines, Executive Call Program and work with Iowa Network Services
    Representing the City, Clyde Evans, Naomi Hamlett, and Jo Eckert
  • Kossuth/Palo Alto County Economic Development Corp, “Existing Industry Report / Economic Analysis
    Maureen Elbert, Executive Director, Kossuth-Palo Alto Counties Economic Development Corp.